The Hate U Give; Book Review

Image result for the hate u give

“The Hate U Give” by Angie Thomas illustrates the horrible events a young sixteen-year-old named Starr Carter faces. Coming from a poor neighborhood but attends a fancy prep school she is looked at as if she’s better than everyone. She went to a party with Kenya and ran into her childhood friend Khalil. While catching up with each other, there were gunshots fired so she leaves the party with Kahlil. On the ride home, they get pulled over by the police. The officer makes Kahlil get out the car to pat him down. Starr must deal with that grief, confusion, and fear that those unexpected events that happened that night left her. That night makes the headlines and leaves the whole community wondering what happened that night. 

I’ve seen it happen over and over again: a black person gets killed just for being black, and all hell breaks loose. I’ve tweeted RIP hashtags, reblogged pictures on tumbler, signed petitions. I always said if I saw it happen to somebody, I would have the loudest voice, making sure the world knew what went down. Now I am that person, and I’m afraid to speak. 

*SPOILER; Kahlil was told not to move but he knew Starr was scared so he goes to the door to simply ask her if she’s okay when the officer pulls fire three times at Kahlil leaving him dead. Starr witness the life leave Kahlil and didn’t know how to process what just happened. * 

About the writer; Angie Thomas was born, raised, and lives in Jackson, Mississippi. She is a former teen rapper whose greatest accomplishment was having an article about her in Right On! magazine. She holds a Bachelor of Fine Arts in creative writing. The Hate U Give is her first novel. More about Angie Thomas.. 

Image result for angie thomas

My Opinion; The first three chapters had me in tears, it is definitely a book I’d recommend to buy and read. The book shows you events that happen today, shows you real things and that’s why I love it. Although I haven’t finished the book, I plan on finishing it to see if justice is served for Kahlil. 

 

 

358.

Leave a comment